Tool Review: Adobe Audition

Over the last month, I experimented with Adobe Audition, an audio production software that gives you the ability to create audio based projects — including music, podcasts, audio books, sound effects and more — easily.

For the purpose of this review, I created a podcast. As a fan of the podcast industry, I wanted to create something that was professional, but also would connect with a wide audience. Therefore, I chose a theme that almost everyone can relate to: relationships. I also wanted the topic to feature insight from a professional in the mental health field. In which case, I interviewed Jenna Stark, a therapist and clinical social worker, on codependency and separation anxiety in relationships. Following her insightful interview, I spoke with my close friend, Stephanie Renner, about her experience with this issue. All in all, I felt it was a really great topic to discuss, especially because of its relevancy in trending television shows, such as “Euphoria.”

While using Adobe Audition to create this podcast, I incorporated royalty free music and a variety of tools featured in the program. However, one thing to take note of is when using certain effects such as Denoise and an FFT Equalizer, people who have little experience with production softwares might have a harder time understanding how to use these tools properly. They can both be used to get rid of static noise that you don’t want in the background of your audio. But after applying these effects, the adjustments you make are hard to find on the display. As a result, I applied 3 different FFT Equalizers to some of my audio clips, which messed with the sound of my voice. Once I found where they were kept, I was able to get rid of them.

Despite that issue, Adobe is known as a creative software company that makes it easy for people to learn how to use their tools effectively, even as beginners. So if you put in the time, I’m sure you can become a pro quickly. I personally loved my experience with Audition. It was easy to keep track of all my audio files, the editing process of each audio clip was seamless, and I feel that this application is incredibly useful for any audio-based project.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started